← Timeline
moera-blog 20-02-2020 22:42
Moera node & client 0.6.0

Special thanks to @tigra and @Ancap for valuable ideas and recommendations that helped to make Moera much better.

New features

Replies. Pressing the "Reply" button under a post creates a new post that is reply to it. The composer page is opened with a new post that contains a link to the original post, the post author's name and a quote from the text of the post. If some text was selected on the page when "Reply" button was pressed, this text will be quoted, with all the formatting. Otherwise, the whole original post will be quoted. If the original post has a title, the new post will have the same title, prefixed with Re:. To customize the replies, visit the "Post" page of the client Settings.

There is a special markup for quotes. Both standard Markdown markup:

> Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt
> ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.

and GitLab Markdown markup:

>>>
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt
ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.
>>>

are supported. <blockquote> HTML tags also work as expected.

Mentions. @username markup is transformed to the link to username's blog. The link is resolved through the Moera naming service at the moment of viewing. This means the link will be still valid, even if the blog changes its address.

Drafts. All new posts that are not yet published are saved automatically as drafts. It is possible to have as many drafts as you want. By default, drafts are deleted 90 days after creation, but this period may be changed in the node Settings. Any draft may be recalled at any moment, using the "Drafts" button in the composer, edited and published. To delete a draft, press the trashcan button in the list of drafts. The "RESET" button in the composer starts a new draft.

If some post is edited, the changes are also saved automatically, but not published, until you press the "UPDATE" button. You can leave the composer at any moment and return to editing the same post later - the changes will be preserved. Press the "RESET" button to forget the changes and restore the original post.

Smaller changes
  • On the Profile page, node name management buttons were reorganized to avoid confusion. The "Change" button was renamed to "Transfer name" and moved away from other buttons.
  • Special style was added for <blockquote>.
  • "Delete" in the posting dropdown menu was moved down and separated from other items to avoid accidental use.
  • Added distance between "Continue Reading" link and reactions.
  • Removed "Login" field from the connection dialog, since it is not necessary and creates confusion with the node name.
  • Added "Hope" to the list of additional positive reactions.
  • Unexpected error messages appear for longer period of time and may be closed by clicking the close button.
  • Status icons in the top left corner were made slightly larger.
  • Added a help text in the "Register a New Name" dialog describing the allowed names.
  • Added a new client setting to change the font size for posts.
  • Client settings are split into three pages: "Post", "Reactions" and "Other".
👍1